The best way to understand the character of a society is to

The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its heroines

A society is a complex composition of multitudinous factors complementing each other. It is therefore to understand a society, it is imperative to make a comprehensive account of all these societal elements along with the study of the characteristics of some of its heroes and heroines. I therefore personally disagree with the given claim for the following reasons.

A society has a myriad of factors that governs its activities. The factors like population distribution, social values and beliefs, religion, culture, profession, educations and the like so have direct role in social activities. This diversification in the social parameters would lead to multiple numbers of heroes within a single society and it would be difficult to study the characteristics of all these heroes. Further, it is not compulsorily true that a hero chosen by a particular group of people should be a hero to other group of people of that society. For instance, a certain political leader who gives high emphasis on the agricultural field and makes magnanimous contribution for the well-being of farmers could be a hero to the farmer group. However, the same political leader could be a villain to a group of business person if he collects those funds by imposing high income tax to the business person. Similar will be the cases for the other group of people. This diversification in the societal parameters leads to multiple numbers of heroes and heroines, the study of whose characteristics cannot give a coherent idea about the characteristics of a society.

An individual is regarded as a hero when he/she makes a huge contribution for the well-fare of society and the development of nation. However, it does not mean that the characteristics of such hero should reflect the characteristics of society. For instance, Mother Teresa is regarded as one of the great social hero due to her magnanimous contribution for the welfare of the peoples who are in need. She has devoted her entire life for the well-being of peoples such as, orphans, physically and mentally disables, senior citizens, sick, poor and handicapped people. However, the people of same society who regard her as a hero do not have a single penny to feed the poor, the people of same society do not have a single minute to look after their old-aged parents, the people of same society do not have a single drop of water to satiate one’s thirst. In this case how one can say that the characteristics of their hero reflect the characteristics of that society?

Similarly, there are numbers of female actors and actresses such as Kareena Kapoor, Katrina Kaif and so the like from Islamic society which they regard them as their hero. However, it does not mean that the female of Islamic society are free to think and act like their heroes. In fact, the females from Islamic society still veil their head when stepping out from their home, and they are not allowed to choose their profession according to their want and desire. Furthermore, a society rife with corrupt people and officials regard their hero as Karl Marx, a society rife with violence and fight regard their heroes as Mahatma Gandhi, and a society rife with prejudice and inequality regards their hero as Abraham Lincoln and Nelson Mandela. In these cases how can the characteristics of the heroes reflect the characteristics of societies that regard them as their heroes?

In conclusion, I am in compete disagreement with the claim made in the given statement.