Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I strongly disagree with the statement "all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is" .

Some people think that no matter what the field of students is, they should be required to take history courses because history gives student a sense of the past. However, I disagree and believe that history courses should not be required to take to all students. I will support my viewpoints with three reasons.

First of all, it should not be required to take to all students because it may inhibit their learning. All the students may not like to take history courses, some of them may feel it unncecessary burden, as a result it may deteriorate their concentration. For instance, one of my highschool friends was very interested in Mathematics, but he had no interest in other subjects. Once, our high-school made compulsory to study history courses. My friend never passed the history subject, additionally was distracted by the history courses and he could not able to accelarate his Mathematics subject. Moreover, he irritated by history courses and later left the school.

Second of all, history courses should not be required to take for all students because it may not be useful in the future. For example, I'm very much interested in Computer Science. If our college makes history courses mandatory for me, I think it does not hold water. Since, in future, I will work in Computer sector where there is no meaning of history courses, it would be a waste of time. In contrast, if I focus in Computer science, develops skills related to this field, it will help me to succeed in the future.

Third of all, history courses should not be made mandatory to all students becasue it rises student's expenditure. It is possible that all of the students may not have enough money to buy history books. For instance, when I was in junior college, our college made us an extra course compusory in which I had not interest in. Since at that time, I was very much interested in Mathematics, I had already spent a lot of money to buy so many Mathematics books. I did not have money to buy the coursebook of that extra course. As a result, later I got failed in the extra course.

To conclude, the subject whether all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is, is complex. Some people believe that history gives student a sense of the past, so it should be mandatory. Nonetheless, I still contend that it should not be required to all students because it may hamper their particular field of study.