Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that computer games should not be allowed to play because playing computer games is a waste of time. However, I do not agree with the prompt and think that it should not be proscribed for the following reasons.

First of all, computer games should be allowed since research has shown that computer games significantly enhance problem-solving skills in children. We know that the problem-solving skill is an indispensable part of the modern educational system, so in order to develop it, it should not be prohibited. For example, in our neighborhood, there is a boy who is very talented in mathematics. Retrospective to a few years back, when there was no internet, he was not good at mathematics. However, few months after the arrival of the internet, he began to play video games, as a result, gradually, he became very sharp-minded in solving mathematical problems. He himself credited the sharpness of his mind to computer games.

Second of all, computer games should not be proscribed because it improves concentration. Several studies have shown that computer games play a crucial role in ameliorating an individual's concentration power. For example, my brother had difficulties with concentration, he would not able to concentrate on one thing for a long time. But, when he started playing video games, his concentration power has significantly improved. Nowadays I found that his concentration power is crossed normal level. In contrast, I've never played video games, I only focus on my career, but my concentration level is decreased in the last few years. Compared to my brother, who is a keen computer games player, my concentration graph is moving downward. So it is important to play computer games.

Third of all, playing computer games is not a waste of time because it increases brain speed. In a survey in our college, those who play computer games regularly have higher brain speed. Since those who have a fast brain, they can do any task efficiently in any difficult situation. For example, in a natural disaster and a fire, we need fast decisions. Computer games may play a huge role in producing such manpower so it is indispensable. If we do not allow to play games, it can hamper the development of future high-speed brain functioning manpower. Hence computer game is not a waste of time and should be allowed to play.

In conclusion, children should not be proscribed to play computer games.