Creating an appealing image has become more important in contemporary society than is the reality or truth behind that image.

Has creating an appealing image become more important in contemporary society, than is the reality or truth behind that image? The author contends so. I mostly agree that creating an appealing image become more central concern, at least where short-term business or political success is at stake. Nevertheless, I think that in longer term image is ultimately yields to substance fact.

The important role of image is particularly evident in the busines world. Consider, for example, today's automobile industry. American cars are becoming more essentially identical to competing Japanease cars in nearly every mechanical and structural respect, as well as in price. Thus to compete effectily autocompanies must know differentiate their products largely through image advertising., by conjuring up certain illusory benefits- such as machismo, status, sensibilit, or fun . The increasing focus on image is also evident in the book-publishing business. Publishers are relying more and more on the power of their brands rather than the content of their book. Today mass- market books are supplanted within a year with products essentially the same - except fresh faces., rifles, and other promotional angles. I find quiet telling the fact that today more and more book publishers are being acquired by large media companies. And the increasing image of importance is especifically evident in the music industry, where originality, artistic interpretation, and technical proficiency have yielded almost entierly to sex appeal.