Many of the world’s lesser known languages are being lost as fewer and fewer people speak them. The government of the countries in which these languages are spoken should act to prevent such languages from being extinct.

The speaker asserts that the government of the countries should act to preserve world’s endangered languages from being extinct. Considering the importance of such fewer spoken language, I agree with the prompt that such languages should be preserved; however, government has a more pressing duties towards nation and the people residing in it, it should focus more on public well-beings rather than on preserving such languages.

Language is not only the means of communication, but also a part-and-parcel of cultural heritage. It is an important asset of the nation that gives a unique identity to it. Therefore, if a particular language of a nation gets extinct, the nation loses its identity and pride to some extent. In this sense, language of a country should be preserved from being extinct.

A particular type of language carries a distinct idea and emotion that no other language carries accurately in a precise way. The ideas and theme of such diminished language present in literature and historical documents can be translated into commonly used popular language; however, complete sensible translation is not possible. For instance, the English version novel “The Blue Mimosa” of Parijaat cannot raise the exact emotions, sentiment, and the excitement in the readers as that by its original Nepali version. It is simply because the English version of that novel lacks the exact sweetness present in the abstract ideas of original Nepali version. There remain subtle nuances in the expression of the ideas, emotions and sentiment while translating the novel into other popular languages.

Further, because of the extinction of many ancient languages, researchers and the archeologists are unable to decode the inscriptions present in the stones, metals and some other historical documents discovered in the archeological sites. Such historical documents could provide profound knowledge about human civilization, past events, scientific accomplishments, culture and traditions of the past era. However, since such language has been already extinct, nobody could decode it, and the cryptic historical documents remained as a great mystery to modern humans. It is therefore preservation of the lesser known languages is imperative.

However, in spite of the great advantages in the preservation of such recondite endangered languages, government has more pressing duties towards the nation and the well being of the people residing in it. Being a general public, I believe that government should focus primarily upon the issues regarding public health, social security, healthy food and water, quality education and the like fundamental issues. Since many of the countries in the world are living under dire poverty and extreme misery, government of the nation should heed on these issues rather than on preserving these diminished languages. Government of a nation should focus more on providing better health and quality education to the people as vital educated people are the only backbone of the nation responsible for its development.

In conclusion, I concede that preservation of the lesser known languages could be advantageous to reveal the exact ideas and information depicted by such languages; however, government has more pressing duties to heed on. I believe that the government of a nation should focus primarily upon the general well being of the nation and the people residing in it, and give high precedence on these issues rather than preserving such esoteric languages.