claim: In any field—business, politics, education, and government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

While some people believe that experienced leaders should maintain their power, I firmly believe that leadership should be changed periodically for the well-being of any organization, be it in education, or business, or in politics or government.

“He has been in that position for 15 years, he may not be wrong!” the newbie appeased himself even when he found a flagrant mistake in his CEO’s plan of action. This is often the situation in large multinational companies where employees tend to be silent even if they know that their superiors are wrong. Though it is true that experience has a certain impact on one’s decisions, it is undeniable that an aura is built around those leaders which scare employees to openly discuss their opinions on the ideas put forth by the leader. Eventually, the leader is unknowingly alienated from the rest of the organization. Inadvertently, a totalitarian situation is formed.

The Stagnation in the leadership inhibits progress. An experienced leader often responds to the situations based on their previous experience with similar encounters or take the ideas of their predecessors. Their ideas often tend to be routine and sometimes outdated. For instance, though many prime ministers condemned the acts of terrorism in Kashmir through tirades in media, no one but Narendra Modi has implemented the revocation of Article 370, which prevented the terrorists from entering the country. This example undoubtedly suggests that new leadership opens new possibilities that might actually be considered as unfathomable until then but are necessary for any system to thrive.

Furthermore, this periodical change is necessary for an organization because it brings new enthusiasm in employees to work. Knowing that promotions are certain, people tend to work more effectively.

On a side note, let us assume that a bad leader came into power. What might happen, the present conditions may get worsened. Whatsoever, the leader will have to change after five years which keeps the hope alive in the people of a country, or employees in an enterprise.

To sum up, a change in leadership is essential for the benefit of the organization or the country. However, some people might argue that this continuous change of leadership might lead to instability, which is very undesirable. This situation will not arrive if experienced people are still a part of the organization. Similar to the elite panel of ministers to a king, if these experienced people guide new leaders, these unstable situations would not arise. Also, one must not forget that the leadership is given to the next deserving persons in the organization but not to laymen. Therefore, the fears of drastic changes are unnecessary.