Claim: In any field – business, politics, education, government – those in power should step down in five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

For success in any field, it is important that a good leader takes the stand and brings about the progress of his enterprise by motivating the employees, workers, etc. of the enterprise. May it be business, politics, education or government, the power that leads the entity must be righteous and possess good decision making skills. Here, the author claims that in any of the aforementioned fields, the power must step down in five years. I disagree with this claim as it doesn’t corroborate with the other facts required to run an enterprise pertaining to the power at end.

As stated in the claim, a tenure of five years is only a constitutional duration provided for the people in power to rule or administer a particular country, business enterprise or political party. In that duration the authorities in power can make amendments in previously held policies, suggest reforms, make new plans or also continue with the old customs. It entirely depends on the power how they wish to utilize their tenure and do better for the country or business and help the society. Making compulsions as to changing the face of the governing body every five years doesn’t sound appropriate because it largely limits the power in the hands of the governing body and also makes it unlikely for them to complete their prescient tasks from being completed.

Consider the example of a country where a political party once chosen, forms the central government. In a tenure of five years this government brought about several reforms, abolished age old customs, qualified undue taxes on its citizens but at the same time also made rules and regulations stricter. If this government collapses and the opposing party’s government is formed, it is highly unlikely for this party to continue with the earlier government’s policies. It might as well scrap their rules and policies and introduce new taxes, rules, etc. This continuous change in rule and policies every five years would affect the citizens, because in every five years they have to change their ways and abide by new rules. Same applies in case of business. If the board members change every five years, introducing new changes each time, the investors, customers and employees too have to abide by their rules.

The reason for the mentioned claim by the author is specified as, the surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization though new leadership. However, the success of any company or enterprise depends upon the efficiency of its policies, their conduct and morality. It also depends on how persuasive are these rules for the citizens and how complacently they adhere to it. Leadership is a broad concept and varies from person to person depending on his/her ethics and moral codes. Dictatorship, communism, democracy are different types of leaderships that govern a country and the output of each of these is well known to us in this modern society.

Thus, in order to successfully bring about the development of a country, enterprise, political party or even educational institute, the leaders running the institute need not necessarily be changed every five years. The success depends on the authority and credibility of the governing party.