The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the aforementioned argument, the author of the letter has stated a decrease in the business of shopkeepers due to decrease in number of shoppers in Central Plaza with the dramatic increase in popularity of skateboarding. The sudden change has occurred over the past two years according to the author. The author further states that there has been an increase in litter and vandalism in throughout the plaza. Hence, the author recommends that the city should prohibit skateboarding which would eventually boost their business to previously held high levels. These recommendations and conclusion as set forth by the author of the letter seem illogical as the author has failed to provide legitimate reasoning and details about various aspects of consideration in the stated argument.

Firstly, the author claims that the popularity of skateboarding has decreased the business of shopkeepers in the Central Plaza due to decrease in number of shoppers. However, there have been no details mentioned about the location of this Plaza and what are the businesses running in these shops. The decrease in the number of customers may be due to various reasons like, the customers must’ve refrained from buying products sold in the sops in the Plaza, or they must have found an alternative to these shops where goods are sold at cheaper cost and better quality. We cannot assume that the increase in skateboarding has affected the businesses directly.

Skateboarding is a fun sport which is usually played among youngsters. The store owners that claim that skateboard users are affecting their business must first provide proper explanation regarding, in what ways is their business declining. No report on how have their businesses suffered in the past two years been provided in the argument. Moreover, who are these skateboard users, are they regular customers of the shops in Plaza should also be mentioned. A direct link between the business decline and skateboard users popularity seems absurd.

Next, the author mentions that there has been an increase in vandalism and litter throughout the Plaza. To support this claim, there is no solid evidence provided which may consist of certain police investigation report. Litter and vandalism seem like a serious issue and must be resolved immediately, but in order to get support regarding this claim the author should answer questions about the frequency of these events, when and where were such crimes committed and casualties if any, must be mentioned so that a proper proof is available.

Lastly, the author recommends that the city should prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza which would help raise their business to previously high levels. Here, there author abruptly provides prohibition of skateboarding as a solution to they plight. No strong evidence how could this step possibly lead to the desired solution has been provided.

Thus, considering the above mentioned points, if the author succeeds to provide a complete insight into their decline in business, details or statistics about their business deprecation, without directly blaming skateboard users, only then this argument can have a strong hold and all the necessary measures would be taken in order to bring their attempts to fruition.