Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Although I concur with the reason that much of the information that people believe is factual really turns out to be inaccurate, I disagree with the claim that any piece of data which is believed to be a fact ought to be mistrusted because it may be proven false in the future because some of the facts are axiomatic and thus true by definition, moreover, scientific search has a cumulative characteristic which will be discussed in more details below.

To begin with, much of data which used to be considered as actual one was proven to be inaccurate and even mistaken. Perhaps, Astronomy may give the most well-known examples of this statement. For instance, a plethora of scholars from ancient time to the Middle ages sincerely believed that the sun orbits the planet, that Earth is flat and elephants which stay on the back of giant whale hold it. Although this concept seems to be ridiculous for a modern person, it was widely accepted in many parts of the world with some deviations. Moreover this example is not an acceptation and many of yesterday’s facts are refuted today. However, may we aver that thus we should mistrusted to any piece of information?

The answer on this question is loud "no" because of two reasons; the first one is that some of our discoveries will not be refuted. Some of facts, in particular, laws of physics, math and chemistry seem to reflect the laws of the universe itself and thus they never change. For instance, five minus two is three and molecule of water have two atoms of hydrogen and one atom of oxygen, moreover, we may take a look at astronomy again, for example, today we know that our planet is orbiting the star, that it is the third planet from the sun and so on. Those facts mirror the reality and thus it is highly doubtful that they have ever be altered. Consequently, if some of the pieces of information are true, the claim is mistaken.

Furthermore, the scientists accumulate knowledge, they collect it by pieces and with each new discovery they make their model more precise and accurate. From this viewpoint, author of the claim exaggerates the degree of uncertainty. For instance, the model of solar system as Galileo presented it to the Church consists only of 4 planets, and then other astronomers added new celestial objects to it and with each new piece of the mosaic added to the scheme it become better and more correct. In the same vein, the scholars work in other fields of the science. Consequently, although a piece of information may be inaccurate, it represents the reality at least partly.

In conclusion, although I agree with the reason that some of information which used to be considered as correct has been proven to be inaccurate, I disagree that we ought to distrust to any fact because some of facts are axiomatic and thus must be trusted; moreover, science accumulates the knowledge and each fact represents a part of reality at least partly and thus can be trusted till more accurate data is available.