Claim: In any situation, the best way to persuade other people is to present them with facts and statistics rather than with emotional arguments.

Reason: Facts are objective, so they are more persuasive than subjective appeals.

This issue of whether best way to persuade others is by presenting them with facts and statistics is a contentious one. By showing facts and evidentiary proof it is easy to convince people rather than just by emotional or mere words. Facts are like universal truths which cannot be denied as Sun rises in the east which no one challenge it or replace it. Whereas emotions can challenged and questioned as they are linked to feelings and thoughts of people.

Indisputably ,In some situations emotions should be given much importance than facts. Positive emotions such as hope are important in life of everyone and may help to persuade people to overcome adverse situations of their life.

Nevertheless ,Facts are statements that can be used to persuade other people because no one can deny facts as they have concrete evidence. Much effort is not required and without any doubt people have the tendency to accept facts without any hesitation.

Thus ,I generally disagree with the opinion that emotional arguments are more persuasive than facts in persuading people. As People correlate emotions with feelings and instincts, whereas facts and statistics are viewed are viewed as truths which cannot be altered.

Primarily, Let us consider the case where a school has introduced new curriculum and wanted to check the results of the students in the exam. If the statistics indicate that students have improved their score on an average by 40 percent than no one can deny the fact that the new syllabus was a success.

Furthermore ,Facts are undeniable as we have solid evidence in support .For example: We are yet to decide whether a product is success or failure based on the quality so the company has distributed free samples to its employees. By conducting the survey the company can gauge the positives and negatives of the product beforehand. The management will be cautious enough to modify the product before launching it to the market or may even cancel the product if the product seems to a failure.

Admittedly, There might be few cases emotions may play major role to persuade people instead of facts. Let us consider a situation where you have a tough choice to choose one person over other. The government does not have sufficient funds to allocate free house to everyone than it prefers the most vulnerable people on priority basis because here emotions supersede the fact that everyone is equal under the government. In this cases emotions play a major role than facts.

Thus , in sum even though emotions can appeal to people but it is always facts and statistics that should be used to persuade people in any situation and in any place.