Claim The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint Reason Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea Write a respo

Whether valuing one’s own ideas requires challenging them against the views of others is a contested position. This is problematic when we seek to choose the proper action, especially when it comes to religious beliefs and political ideals. It seems though that convincing those who have an alternative perspective on a specific topic will ultimately be what allows us to recognize the value of our own stance.

Some argue that the values of our ideas are realized without being discussed with those holding a different point of view. The proponents of this position claim that as long as we are convinced of our views, then there will be no need to challenge them by considering the ideas of others. For example, let us consider religious beliefs. One may argue that it will be unnecessary to establish any exchange of ideas between different religions, as such exchange will have no effect at all. Religious arguments are presented in the first place to be upheld by faith and not reason. Accordingly, such ideas should not be contested and contrasted with others, as that will only lead to religious tension. Religious tension in the first place is the outcome of dominant religious groups trying to force their views on others who hold different beliefs.

Nevertheless, it seems it is still necessary to challenge our positions against the critical arguments especially of those who have an opposing view. The main force of this argument stems from the claim made by John Stuart Mill of the fallibility of our ideas. This view has also been advocated by a number of contemporary philosophers, especially Jurgen Habermas. The recognition that our arguments are fallible will urge us to continuously consider alternatives while contesting our beliefs against those of others. In the case of international terrorism for instance, we do believe that considering the view of others is required. The destruction of the twin towers in New York possibly would not have occurred if there had been any dialogue between the two contesting parties. The notion of utilizing terrorism for arriving at particular political goals would be subjected to thorough criticism. Consequently, those who appeal to terrorism as a legitimate mean to arriving at ends will in the least recognize the fallibility of their position beforehand. This however can only be done through contesting it against those who hold a different view and not against those who are already convinced of the legitimacy of terrorism.

Ultimately, it seems that challenging our views against contrasting perspectives does appear to be the best way to test the soundness of an idea. This stems primarily for our recognition of the fallibility of our ideas. Therefore, we should always consider any argument we hold to be contestable. This will prompt us to discuss our ideas against people who hold opposing views first and foremost in order to see whether our beliefs are right or not.