Claim Though often considered an objective pursuit learning about the historical past requires creativity Reason Because we can never know the past directly we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts documents and artifacts W

An objective reconstruction of past events is by far one of the most challenging tasks that historians have to face in their job. Since there is no other way other than interpreting and studying the old documents and artifacts found by archeologists, one might think that creativity is a fundamental skill that every historian should have. Nevertheless, based on the reasons I am going to present, I think that nowadays learning about the historical past requires analytical thought and adequate reasoning rather than creativity.

In the first place, it is important to underline how the work of past historians has changed the way of learning about historical events. Thanks to years and years of findings such as old documents, artifacts, historical accounts and so forth, we now have such a big database of information that creativity is not that useful.

Instead, an acute reasoning and the ability to find connections between different documents or artifacts would represent some of the best skills a historian should have.