Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

The author is making a claim that character of a society should be judged on the basis of heroes and role models it has chosen. In making this claim author is overlooking several possible scenarios wherein heroes and role models may not accurately portray the character or ideals of the society.

Firstly, there can be scenario in which one becomes a hero not because of some high values but due to special abilities or exceptional talents. Such heroes can only show off their innate talents, and the society at large may also remain indifferent to the ideals of such heroes. Consider Mark Zuckerberg of Facebook, who is a role model for many people all over the world. Zuckerberg is the founder of Facebook, but is actually accused of stealing the idea of Facebook from winkle Voss brothers. His company Facebook is often accused of overtaking smaller companies and utilizing them for its own use. But still he is seen as a role model, because people value his ideas, his vision not much his principles.

Secondly, society does not comprise of few individuals only, but of various groups. Nowadays the societies can be very large and diverse, uniformity in a society is very rare. These groups can have different opinions that may be independent also. It is possible that not every section of the society is represented by them. Like in USA which is a country of immigrants, there is appreciable population of Indians settled there. So Indians who have settled in USA may not associate themselves with the role models of American Society. So in diverse societies values among the common masses can vary, and role models may actually not be able to subsume all of these values.

However it is not to say that Heroes and Role models can never portray the true values of a society. Heroes and Role models are people who have come from the society itself. Among hoards of people they are the ones who have overcome their fears, weaknesses, and failures, and in doing so have developed a highly strong character.

To conclude I must say that to judge a society based on the character of its heroes and role models is actually misleading, in a way that heroes are often not formed based on their character but based on their talent, and their can values and principles may not appeal to every section of the society. Thus giving oneself a fallacious view of the character of society.