“Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.”

The claim that educational institution have a responsibility to dissuade students seems a pragmatic one. I fully concur with the claim, because such a scenario is beneficial for the student as well as the university.

Firstly, Life is all about making the correct decisions at the right time. As a student making a career choice can be very daunting task for most of the students except the prodigies. Students are often confused about what their interest is and what is better for them. Like in my case after completing my school I was also confused about whether to study Medical or engineering. I consulted my teachers, and suggestions from them actually helped me to realize my strengths and weakness in both the areas and make a better decision. So educational institution must certainly ensure that a student is made to realize about the chances of success, pursuing a field of study.

Secondly, by pursuing such a policy educational institutions will actually help students save a lot of time, money and effort. For example in US mostly cost of education is very high. College students have to take huge loans to fund their education, and pursuing a field of study in which one is unlikely to be succeed, will not only hamper the prospects for a better life, but one may also end up incurring huge debts. All the time and effort, all the hard work done may all end up being wasted. However such a situation could be avoided if the college authorities dissuade students from pursuing field of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

On the contrary, however it is for a student to decide which field of study to pursue. There are students who initially may not be initially inclined towards a particular field, but develop the aptitude for the subject at a later stage. Dissuading such students at an early stage based on their performance, may actually discourage the student and would not prove to be helpful at all.

In conclusion, educational institutions certainly have a responsibility in ensuring that students pursue their studies in fields with a likelihood of success. However the chances of success for students in field should also be carefully evaluated and not done in haste.