“Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.”

Educational institutions endeavors to create a fulfilling future path for their students. Then, it raises a controversial issue whether or not these institutions should deter the students from their fields which they probably would fail. Even though there are valid arguments for both sides, I strongly disagree with this statement for two reasons. First, being unsuccessful for a period of time does not necessarily bring failure in future; moreover, in a given field there are lots of specialization which could make students to focus on.

To begin with, if institutions abruptly try to switch the minds of its unsuccessful students to another field, that would be a really early decision to do so. Not just that, even evaluating that students "might" fail in future is a big promise! Because, each individual might overcome from hardships and not be able to do well at a given time. So that, discouraging students would be a really short-term action. In addition to that, let's consider university years. In the first one or two years, students must take general courses without considering their own field. To illustrate; mechanical engineer candidates take classes with economists, architecture candidates. Therefore, the core subjects are not covered yet. That's why, student might show its genuine ability in coming years, where the courses directly addresses the major. That's why, institutions should not intervene unsuccessful students and wait until the right time comes.

Next, making a move towards unsuccessful students would be a really generalized one. Saying that, one might fail in lots of courses but maybe the specialization of her is not related with the courses she is having hardship. For instance, in aerospace engineering, there are lots of specialization or directions students may pursue. That could be software, design, fluid mechanics, dynamics etc. So, overall level of failure does not necessarily mean that students are not passionate and successful with a specific content of major.

However, some may argue that the reasons mentioned above includes the huge amounts of risk in terms of time, waiting the right time and right content for students, and extreme amounts of huge costs, the tuition fees and living costs that student burdens. However, making a pressure towards student and giving direction to them should not be given by institutions themselves and leaving some decision to students.

In conclusion, I mostly disagree with the statement that claims students should be discouraged from their fields that have a probability to fail for several reasons.