Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

it is always said that the best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society choses as its heroes or its role model.it is not entirely true but still the character of the heroes and role models can shed some light on the society itself. we all admire and idolize some great men and women. some try to imitate them and get their thoughts and works in their lives. Or some just blindly follow and treat such heroes and role models blindly

The society is made up of all kinds of people belonging to different age groups and every individual has its own thinking prospective. For example some members of a society specially the youth crowd love sports like football and cricket so they will idolize the athletes and will treat them as their heroes and on the other side the old people will follow some poet or some author as their role model and idolize them. again lot of them will consider the past great leaders as their heroes so , because of such diversity you cannot make an assumption of the character of the society as the members are having diffrent heroes and role models.

In some cases for example take a small country who just fought their authority and declared themselves as independent then all the people there will remember the army soldiers who fought for the freedom of the country and gave them their freedom. in such case all the members of the society from children to old people will remember these martyrs as their heroes and the children will take inspiration from them and the whole society will develop a great feeling of patriotism and love for freedom. Now it can be said that analysing the character of the heroes of this society or nation we can say that the people there are characterized by feeling of great patriotism and reverence towards their nation and they are more likely to work hard for nation building.

we see great countries in the world are associated with great leaders rather sometime some countries are only known to the world because of the great leaders they had.so the personality of these leaders is making whole nation proud on world stage and the people there are known or supposed to be following the teachings and principles of the leaders.we all know the japnese people follow buddhism and all over the world japan and japanese people are known to be peace-loving and creative. we all see what progress japan had made in science and technology. they all follow the teaching of buddha and admires and idolize him revere him as their diety.

so the great men make a great nation . And the true followers of these great people take the baton ahead. so yes most of the time we can say that the heroes and role model show the society's highest ideals but one will be mistaken to judge whole society based on the heroes and great personalities. because there always will be some misanthropic people who will try to disgrace the great work done by these heroes and try to deride them.