"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

The letter to the school board in centerville expresses a grave concern about the accident happening in the area and involvement of teenagers in that. Stating this it suggests that the centerville highschool should start an effective and mandatory driving program. He provides further reasons like lot of teenagers are involved in the accidents, Complaints from the parents that they are too busy to teach their children to drive and finally the unaffordable cost of the two driving schools in the city. Firstly the suggestion seems fine but after carefully examining it we can see that it is flawed and ignored lot of facts.

It is mentioned in the letter that in the past two years several accidents in and around centerville has involved teenage drivers. Stating this he should have provided the total no of accidents and the ones which involve the teenage drivers. He should have mentioned about the severity of the accidents which involve teenage drivers. Without an exact number it would be naive to assume that teenagers are involved in several accidents. again it is not mentioned about the driving status of the teenage driver who were involved in the accidents happend around centerville area. It may be true that lot of them were already learned drivers but still commited blunders. So without any knowledge about the history of those drivers involved again it can't be assumed that all those who were involved were not educated enough for driving.

Accidents are not a sole responsiblity of a single person or single side. Yes, sometimes it involved mistake of only one party but most of the time both the drivers on each side are responsible for accident. so it may be possible that in all those accidents mentioned the teenage drivers had nothing to do with those mistakes and it happened because of the carelessness of the other driver. So the teenage drivers cannot be blamed for the accident solely. So without having more information about the accidents, blaming a particular group of drivers seems partial.

Finally the suggestion which says that the centerville highschool should start a effective and mandatory program about the driving seems a hasty one. Teaching driving to one or two students is completly diffrent from teaching driving to the whole school. It will increase more economic burden on the school. More funds will be used to make sure the program is more effective, trained driving instructors should be hired and this will again increase the burden on school. To cope with such pressure the school might impose some fee hike in the academic fees of students which will then burden the parents, who in the first place are complaining about the unaffordble pay for the driving school. Again the letter dosen't mention the total number of parents complaining. It may be true that the parents are complaining about the thing that they are too busy to teach their children how to drive. But they are not suggesting the school to start teaching driving.

So the suggestion to the school about starting a driving course is hasty and have a lot of loopholes. To make his point more strong the arguer should have mentiond about the Total number of accidents, The exact number of teenagers involved in that, More information about the accident and their causes, The number of parents complaining etc. Again he should have mentioned the ways in which the school can start such program without burdening themselves economically. Then the Suggestion will be plausible.