Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

The author clams that best way to understand the character of the society is to examine the character of men and women that the society chooses as its heroes. It is true that the role models of any society gives many important information about the society. Though, this claim of the author may seem true, but this does not necessary to be always and everywhere true. Hence, I don't agree with the author on this claim due to following reasons.

To understand any society there are numerous things which we can analyze to identify character of a society so the claim of author that studying role models of a society is the best way is not appropriate. The history of any society, famous literature, and culture are some of the good ways to learn about any society. For instance, North Korea has Dictatorship and the dictator of North Korea is famous for cruelty but still people respect him as they think whatever he does will benefit country and idealize him. So can we assume all the people of North Korea are cruel? There may be some people who dislike the dictator. Hence, the role model may not be representing all the people.

It is true that role models are society's highest ideals. But the problem with this statement is that there may be number of ideals in one society with exactly opposite nature. For example, In India many people idealize Gandhi while there are some section of society who idealize the Godse - the killer of Gandhi. If one will study one of these personality and will make his mind about Indian society then will it be fair? Heroes are worshiped by the people so wrongdoings of any hero in his late life should not form wrong perception about whole society. Can we say that German society has similar characteristics as Hitler?

However, the role models in some amount give information about the society as a general. Take a example of people of Pakistan, they respect their war heroes highly. This makes sense that the people of Pakistan as a society are very nationalistic. It will not be appropriate to ignore this important fact. Though, heroes or ideals may not give all information but they provide some information definitely about the character of the society.

In conclusion, One should study many things like literature, history, and culture in order to understand character of a society. Role models and heroes can not provide all the information necessary to understand any society, in fact relying just on heroes may give wrong perception about a society.