To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

The high ethical and moral standards are necessary to be an effective leader. The author's claim seems to be right at first glance. However, the highest ethical and moral standards are not the only things that make any leader effective. I agree with the author due to the following reasons.

Consider any great leader like Mahatma Gandhi or Nelson Mandela, they are great leaders not only as they were a good orator. The policy, the work without any self motives were responsible for their rise as an effective leader. Mahatma Gandhi during India's independence movement even with the very cruel regime didn't leave his ethics and principles. There are historically many examples of many such great leaders who fought for their principles no matter what the situation was. There is no lack of leaders but to rise above and to build a personality such that even opposition has to listen to you that is what makes any leader great and different from others.

The effective leader always first thinks about the big picture rather than applying populist policies. Nowadays, many people would have felt that public officials are compromising with their values to gain monetary or political gains. There is a lack of ethics today. For instance, consider today's leaders like Donald Trump, King Jong Un, and Xi Jin Ping, they all have ambitions of making their countries great in the world while forgetting basic human rights, ethics, morals. The leader is elected by the public vote so, people are always watching him what he is doing and how? The leader should always present the right example to his public by following the principles. This would send the right message to the masses. Historically, we have many examples such as Hitler from Germany, with his powerful army and unethical plots also defeated by ethical forces. If public officials will not follow basic ethics and morals standards then it would make the world full of deceit and scams.

In Conclusion, there should be a stringent following of ethics, principles and morals standards by public officials to make our world more and more prosperous. This indeed will reward public official respect of many and will be treated as a great and effective leader.