Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.

It is indeed true that now the world is more complex than it was in a relatively recent past. This is because of a change in lifestyle and technological advancement. The author argues that knowledge about the past is not important to make important decisions today. I disagree with the author on this statement. We all can learn from the past and can improve our decision making.

According to the author, If the past is of no significance then why we are studying it? Why we are studying about various wars humans have fought? There is always something to learn from the mistakes of the past. Our history shows us common human tendencies. Though the world has now changed a lot still basic principles are still the same. Today in this era also we are fighting for small things whether it is a piece of land or valuable resources. We can learn from the past what we had done wrong at that time so, we will avoid these mistakes in our future. For instance, NASA attempted many times to go in outer space for space exploration. They learned from their past mistakes and studied them. This way step by step one day they were able to escape earth's gravity. Recently India carried out Chandrayan 2 moon mission which will be landing on the south pole of the moon. It was from past experience Chandrayan 1 that ISRO learned there is a high chance of finding water at the moon south pole.

When investors thinking about investing in any company the first thing he studies a company's past performance. Even, admission of the student is done by his previous year's performance or grade in the previous university. The past performance helps the administration to know the student's capability and talent.

We see today forecasting of weather that in these months of the year there will be rain in any particular area, what they do is they collect past data for some years and forecast that there will be rain or not in these particular months. The past performance or data helps us in predicting the future and based on that we can make a better decision.

In conclusion, knowing the past is essential to guess the outcomes of different action's reactions. It is always advisable to study past records before making any important decision.