Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims the knowledge about history is not beneficial for the today's crucial tasks. The writer further reasons the current complicated lifestyle does not match with the past trend. I fundamentally do not concur with the claim and its adherence clue.

First of all, the factor which convinces me that the information from the past is useful is the prediction of future success or failures according to the past event. Actually, the previous trend ending either success or defeat; sheds a light and specify a riskless path which enhances the chance of triumph. A lucid example which gives adherence to my perspective is the usage of the previous financial trend by the economists for the anticipation of the future loss or profit. At the field of economic, the last decade's pecuniary stands which are presented by various table or graphs, represent the profitable ways of investment for companies which possesses fewer risks.

Another striking field which consistently gains the rearing from the past is the field of science. It is obvious that most of the scientific accomplishment and achievement are base on the previous activity. Indeed, activities either right or wrong by the previous scholars, prepare a basement for the further flourishment on the branch. I prefer to mention the formation of the Periodic Table in the field of chemistry which took approximate a century to shape and gain its ultimate stand. This long duration shows that this table did not arrange by the same chemist; however, lots of chemists in a different period of time during history made the modification and alteration. Although there are changes in the previous activities, the holistic and initial scheme of table did not alter. In addition, each scientist according to the previous activities goes a step further than the last chemist did.

Finally, the reason for a prompt which considered the complexity of modern life as the barrier for adapting the idea from the past events is an ambiguous clue. Based on technological advancement, there are lots of enhancements which make the current world does not seem similar to the last one. Nevertheless, the human-beings possess the same nature with the enhanced understanding which shows there is no difference; and by the consideration of analogies, the implementation of the previous lessons in the current situation could be beneficial. I prefer to the mention of World War I and II which possess disaster side-effects such as famine, mortality, shortage of productivity and development. Maybe for the sake of enhancement of the modern people cerebrations the same event will not happen; however, the negative influence of hostility and discrimination of this wars which are also common in the current life should be considered as a lesson to own a peaceful global.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned arguments illustrate my outlook which does not approve this prompt.