Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Finding characteristics of society has always been an important issue for sociologists and government for understanding the society in deep and making correct decisions. While understanding the characteristic of heroes of the society could provide a good insight into the population, nonetheless, I could not accept the claim as it is and I explain my view now.

Understanding the specification of the ideal person may provide a perspective view of the belief of the individuals but in fact, it might not be the best way. Because people in society have different ideas about life so they could have different role models with various specifications. Therefore, there is not just a role model for the whole of society. On the other hand, some believe heroes are just appropriate for a special skill. Take a sportsman as an example, he might not be a role model for family life and he could have several defects in private life.

The reason which is provided is not persuasive. Since nowadays people have more broaden view in comparison with the last decades. Most of them do not believe any role model or hero and they think it is ridiculous and far from the logic of the world. Thus, some individuals do not have any role models even in their minds and may just follow some instructions of successful persons for a specific purpose.

Finally, the method which is explained in the claim could have some merits and could provide a perfunctory view of the society but it could not be the best way for this purpose. These days numerous scientific methods can be held to find out the characters of the society. For example, experts provide questionnaires to get a view of people in marriage.

In conclusion, although the claim could provide a beneficial method to find a view of the society's character, nevertheless it could not be the best way and some scientific methods could prepare a comprehensive view of the society.