The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the satement claims that the survey which was done by Dr. Krap could not be true and provide some evidences and reasons. At the first galnce it looks persuasive but when scrutinize the statement, there are rife of holes and assumptions and if one of them fails, the argument would be on doubt.

The first assumption of the arguments is that the society in the island was completely constant during past year. While the study of the Dr. Krap was done about twenty years ago, author examine the society right now. During past twenty years lots of evidences happened and may affect on the living style of the natives. For example, technological improvement strongly changed life style and point of view of individuals or economical change may effect on their life while the autho does not mention any evidance to eliminate these posibilities. In order to sterengthen the argument, the writer could present any historical evidances which show the life style of inhabitants are similar to the period with initial survey.

Another hole in the argument is about recet interview which hold by author. He does not provide any information about method of his study and number of people which interviewed. There are a number of potential errors in his study such as insufficient number of studying, the answer choices may be narrowed to some that are desireable for interviwers, and there is not any statistical result to distinguish cogency of the study. To support the survey, the author should present additional information about the survey to convince the reader.

Finally, even the survey which hold by the writer would be reliable and the life style of island would be same as twenty years ago, the reason that auther mentions for refuting Dr. Kolen is not reasonable. He maintains, since children talk more about thier biloloogical parents more than any other persons, the conclusion of initial study is wrong. Whereas we can count number of potential reasons for this event. For instance, children maybe miss their parents and they want to talk about them or because lake of visiting the try to satisfy their feeling or any psychological reasons. To prove the argument from other posibilities, the writer could provide some experts' idea about this bahavior of children.

In conclusion, the argument present an statements but could not provide sufficent premises to support it and it is necessary to propose any additional information to improve cogency of the argument.