In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the context provides some information about the situation of Mason City. He maintains cleaning the Mason River would eliminate the smell of the river and due to the interests of inhabitants of the city to water sport, the city government should assign a budget for these activities. The reasons provided by the author look persuasive at the first glance, but when one delves deeper into the provided reason, his reasoning is rife with holes and assumptions that should be clarified by the author. I could not accept the statement as it is due to three reasons and I will explain now.

First of all, the writer maintained that city dwellers are interested in water sports while he did not mention any survey, study, or additional information to support his claim. Even he maintain according to the study, it is possible that the study would have some holes. For instance, it should be clear that how many people inquiry about this question. Is the survey hold according to scientific manners. Besides, it is possible that people like to do water sport on their holiday outside the city. Besides, liking water sport does not mean they can do these activities. it is possible that due to their economic situation they do not afford the expenses of water sports.

Another possibility is that they may just like to watch water sport on TV or other media not do it themselves. Another reason that provided is that the state has announced a plan to clean up the river and would be removed. It could not be necessarily correct. The author did not provide information about the origin of the smell. The smell could be from industries and factories that dump their wastewater in the river. Therefore, clean up the river would not remove the smell because the main cause of the odor remained unchanged. Also, it is just an announcement and the government may cancel it due to political issues or lack of budget.

Lastly, the author assumed that the budget of the city government is unlimited and the city does not have any financial limitations. Although this assumption may hold, the writer did not present any additional information to prove that. A possible situation is that the city government could not provide funds for this purpose unless cut down some funds in other projects in construction or health. in this situation, it may not reasonable to provide funds for the aforementioned project.

In summary, clean up the river and eliminating the smell could be helpful for the city and attract tourists. However, the writer could not provide cogent information to persuade the reader.