Claim:the best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society choose as its heroes or its role models.

Reason:Heroes and role models reveal a society’s highest ideals.

Nowadays, many people believe that the best approach to realize the character of a society is to examine the character of both the men and women that the community chooses as its heroes or its role models since they reveal a society's highest ideas. As far as I am concerned, I disagree with this idea. Although heroes and role models represent a nation's highest ideals, it is not wise for a country to only choose heroes and role models to understand the society's character.

First of all, I concede that either heroes and role models reveal a society's ideals. The reason I want to express is that heroes and role models must do something that has influenced the whole nation or is important to the development of the country so that they behave as the model to represent a country's ideals. For example, in China, there is a province called Sichuan, which is famous for its fine wine. It got its name because there was once a poet who loved to drink and wrote a lot of poems about wine. Therefore, this man, as the representative of this region, shows the tradition of local people who love to drink. Moreover, Bill Gates has created tremendous wealth. As a representative of the society, he not only founded his own company, but also promoted the innovative development of the entire country. Hence, he shows the will of society. As a result, from what has been discussed above, we could come to the conclusion that heroes and role models reveal some parts of a community's ideals.

In addition, I think that heroes and role models may not reveal a society's highest ideals for the reason that some heroes or role models could not reveal each aspect of highest ideals so that they could not reveal a nation's highest ideals just some parts of highest ideals. For instance, we see some influenced individuals in our lives. They may donate money to the poor, invent new things, save people in danger. Even though they have done some useful things to a society, we cannot admit that they must represent the highest ideals of the nation. Because the highest part is not measurable and not easy to get. Hence, I think that both heroes and role models could only reveal some faces of the highest ideals, not the whole wills of a society.

Finally, apart from examining the character of the people that society selects as its models, there also have other ways to examine the character of a society. One method that could be considered by some to be the best is an examination of education. The education level of a region represents the development potential of that region, so education highlights the talent and development characteristics of a society. Another way is to examine the environment of a community. If a society has a good environment that is pretty appropriate for people to live in, then it will reveal that this region is good at protecting the environment. However, if some places are destroyed by human activities, then the people who live here must possess a rough place. Therefore, all these factors will play important an role in examining the character of a society.

All in all, in addition to examining a society’s role models and heroes, many methods are available to understand the character of a society such as education and environment. Although some heroes and models are an effective way to show a nation’s ideals, other aspects should not be ignored.