Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgement.

Should the administration implement some policies by listening to the wishes of the people of the nation or by relying on its own judgement? Some individuals hold the view that the government should achieve goals that originate from the public, while others believe that it is more wise to make decisions based on officials since they grasp relatively more information and more forward-looking than ordinary people. As far as I am concerned, when the government makes decisions about the lives of their people, they should take people’s advice. On the contrary, if the authority make policies related to international affairs, they should base their decision on the experience and judgement of their own rather than the views of their common people.

On the one hand, I concede that the government is elected by the people so that they should serve the people. When it comes to the interests and lives of its people, the government should listen more to its audience. Only through this way could the administration could hold the power. For example, the Chinese government had originally set aside a one-day holiday for Labor Day. But most people think a day off is too short. At the suggestion of an overwhelming majority, the government listened to the people and extended the holiday to three days. Hence people can live a better life and support the work of the government more. However, if the officials totally ignore the opinions from the public and stick to their own judgement, they would slowly lose the support of the people. Therefore, the authority should better understand the wishes from the people and accomplish them in the short run.

On the other hand, when it comes to affairs related to the overall country’s interests instead of the single resident, the government should make decisions relying on the messages they acquire and the condition of the whole nation. The reason I made this assumption is that the administration has a good understanding of all aspects of the country and the international situation. For instance, nowadays, many countries around the world are competing for the right to host the Olympic Games since the competition could bring not only the good reputation for the host nation but also tremendous benefits for them. When applying for the right, the leader of the country must consider the cost of the sports venues and the allocation of staff. Under these circumstances, the government should make the decision based on the whole nation’s funds, places and the probability of success. From what has been discussed above, at the national level, it is appropriate for the leader of the country to make choices based on their personal judgement instead of listening to the people.

To sum up, an insightful official should and is able to make decisions on the basis of the will of the people he serves; meanwhile, citizens should attempt to understand that those policies have undergone thorough consideration regarding the potential benefits and consequences. The ideal world I depict is one in which leaders and the public enjoy a harmonious relationship and both benefit from policy decisions.