Claim: The emergence of the online "blogosphere" has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United Stated.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

The topic raises a unique problem that has arisen due to the influx of technology in people's houses; that social media and similar outlets of information have diluted the political discourse due to an unfettered rise in communication. On a cursory analysis, this may seem to be the case. But anyone who observes the scenario with a critical eye will realize that these hubs of information have actually improved the political discourse in the country.

The rebuttal can be strengthened by considering the independent YouTube channels such as VICE and Seeker Network. Both of these channels have been able to achieve a more neutral analysis of the current political elections as they do not require substantial funds to run their program. While it is true that a complete disinterest to any political party by a network is difficult to observe, the present situation is far better than the 60s and the 70s, where the sole source of information were either state sponsored news channels or the established news channels.

Speaking of the established news channels, the presence of an ever vigilant social community that readily points out the discrepancies within even the smallest of details have forced them to provide better services. The game of survive or die is doubly true in this fast paced news network. For instance, despite having a strong presence in the United Kingdom, the BBC news channel receives a tepid response in the United States due to the highly competitive occlusions of the American news channels. This scenario would have been unimaginable before the internet era that provides opinions round the clock.

And while it is true that the horde of political opinions will consist of biased and illogical opinions, the filters of social media will ensure that they do not receive relevant exposure. For instance, Reddit, a social media website has a mechanism called as upvotes that determine which post will be displayed at the forefront. Redditors vote on the posts published and only those posts that are cogent, indifferent and relevant will be appreciated. So to claim that the political discourse will be adulterated due to this is a foolish conclusion to make.

In short, an ever vigilant, highly perspicuous user community will ensure that the political discourse maintains, if not supersedes the standards of the previous generation. Moreover, more robust and critical news agencies have arisen because of social media. Regardless of the caliber of the politicians, social media will ensure that only the most beneficial receives the limelight.