The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities.

Unlike the present era, in the medieval ages, political leaders were anointed based on their lineage rather than any memorable feats that they had achieved. The medieval ages were also characterized by rampant famines, debilitating diseases and forced labor. No ruler of the medieval ages is considered great because of the inherent skills which he possessed and thus, a political leader is remembered by the feats he has achieved, rather than any inherent qualities that he may possess.

When we look at the history of political leaders, the truly remarkable ones are revered for challenging the social order rather than any inherent talents that they may have possessed. Martin Luther King Jr. is remembered prominently not for his oratory skills, but for abolishing slavery and regaining the esteem of the African-Americans. There have been numerous political leaders who were better at speaking than Martin Luther King, but their greatness pales in comparison to his because they have not overcome such challenges.

Apart from the historical background, we can look at the present corporate world to see that this argument is true. We do not condone nepotism: the process of promoting employees based on their relationship with their employers. The family tree holds no importance to the job at hand. On the same lines, why should the political leaders be applauded for the talents that they were born with? Their capability of handling difficult situations is more important than their latent talents.

Speaking of latent talents, they themselves are varied and perceived differently by different people. Being authoritarian is apposite for the rulers in dictatorships, but is shunned by the countries that have democratic governance where open-mindedness is more favored. It is impossible to define a leader as great under these circumstances. On the other hand, the achievements of the leaders are irrefutable, regardless of his or her location.

Thus, while skills may help in aiding a leader to greatness, the feats that he has achieved plays a far vital role in this. The foundations of our society is built upon the hardships of the few, rather than the talents of the many.