Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Choice of one's dream is not a trivial one. Every individual has a right to follow his dream, provided the goal is worth the persuasion. The given prompt claims that even though people have the liberty to pursue dreams of their choice, picking worthy goals must be emphasized, submounting selfish one, if exits. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the recommendation and argue that people must be suggested to follow worthy goals for these reasons.

First of all, a person must persue a dream which would invigorate the process of making the society better. It must serve the human mankind in a positive way. A person who works for the society has greter propensity to success. For instance, if a company aims to earn millions by patenting an important drug during a pandemic, they let their selfishness to take precedence. Instead, a firm who makes the scientific findings available to all, serves the whole mankind. This illustartes that having worthy goals is imperative to become a better human being.

Secondly, we must not allow our selfishness to take a toll on our intuition, to make key decisions regarding dreams to follow. We must be able to discer perfectly and make a correct call. Take a child, for instance, who is taught the difference between good and bad from an early age. This shapes the child in good way, and invariably the child chooses right dream to follow. Great leaders like Nelson Mandela, Martin Luther King, Barak Obama, etc. all had one thing in common, following a 'worthy' dream, in interest of the society at large. This illustartes how not letting emotions take over our conscience, leads to success and prosperity.

Finally, we must discourage picking selfish goals which would have serious implications, if not sustained. The latent potential to cause adversities cannot be undermined. For instance, organizations such as ISIS end up following a dream not worthy enough. Once you are engrossed, it is difficult to back out. Terrorism and dictatorship are results of such actions. Hence, we must affirm to pick worthy goals.

Of course, some argue that being selfish is necessary in order to succeed in this increasingly globalized world. I agree that a bit of competency is required to sustain and compete. However, it cannot surpass the worthiness of the goal to follow. If people such as Steve Jobs and Bill Gates would not have persued a worthy goal, we could'nt be able to access this test through computers and internet. Therefore, we must lay a greater emphasis on picking worthy goals rather than following selfish goals.