MEMO: The director of Internatinal student affairs at Darrington College suggests that a new cafeteria must be constructed in the college premises.

In the given memo, the director of Internatinal student affairs at Darrington College suggests that a new cafeteria must be constructed in the college premises. The suggestion is based on the premise that the current cafeteria is old and caters only expensive items and dishes and concluding that construction of new cafeteria would help increase the college's popularity, surging the number of students applying to the college. However, the conclusion drawn by the director may hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. Hence, before we could evaluate the argument, the following must evidences must be provided.

First, is the cafeteria,such an important aspect, taken into account while choosing a college? Do students choose college solely based on the quality or affordibilty of the dishes served in cafe? Ot is highly likely that a plethora of factors contribute in decision regarding choosing one's college. Numerous factors such as fees, college ranking, courses offered, job prospects and college research scope contribute in decision-making. It is probable that cafe do account in facilities provided by the college but it certainly doest not precede the above stated factors. Perhaps, some students might opt for off-campus accomodation and in this case, cafeteria does not matter. If either of the above is true, then the conclusion drawn in the origianl argument is dramatically weakened. The director must produce data to back his premises.

Furthermore, the director claims that the current cafeteria is old and expensive. How old is the cafetria? Which dishes are served and at what costs? How does the cost compare relatively to other cafeteria in the vicinity? It is likely that the quality of food served precedes over the architecture and premise of the cafeteria. It is higly likely that students are health consiuous and most for them prefer home-made food and refrain from eating from cafeteria. Also, the costs of the dishes served is comparative to other cafes in the college and may be cheaper than other cafes. The wordings of the author is highly vague and unreliable. The auhor must furnish data regarding the construction of cafe and menus from other cafes to justify the claim. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finnaly, the author concludes that new cafeteria would enhance the ranking of the college. Is cafeteria a valid parameter taken into account for college ranking? However, this might not be the case. Other factors might influence the ranking and therefore this claim cannot be validated. Unless the author furnishes statistical data to shows how rankings are accounted for, the validity and reliability of the claim accounted be checked. If the above is warranted, then the argument is weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stans now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the director is able to furnish the evidences demanded above and perhaps conduct a scientific study to check effects of new cafeteria, then we will be able to evaluate the viability of the given suggestion completely.