The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given editorial, the author concludes that Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under the age of nine. The author arrives at this constrictive conclusion based on the premise that most of these young players suffered injuries, reported psychological pressure and hinderance to their academic performances. The conclusion drawn by the author hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. Before we could accept or reject the claim, the folloeing assumptions must be addressed.

First, the author cites a 'recent study' regarding the youth players showing the exertion due to the psychological pressure. It is unclear, however, the scope and validity of the study. It is possible that the sample wouldnot have been the representitive of all the children below nine. The editorial states that the study was conducted accros several major cities, but fails to convey whether thecity of Pinkville is included or not. The wording of the study are vague and ambiguous. Moreover, the author fails to furnish statistical data and methodologies used to conduct this study. It is possible that the since pysochological pressure is intangible and cannot be quantified, this study would might lead to fallacious conclusion. Unless the author provides the details regarding the study, the validity and reliability cannot be verified. If either of the above is true, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly flawed.

Furthermore, the author assumes that long practice sessions is hindering their academic activities. However, this might not be the case. It is probable that only a few might face practice session as a potential deterrent to academics. Since the wordings 'long session' is subjective and ambiguous, it is higly likely that these session account for only small proptions of their time and most is devoted to academic activities. For instance, a kid attending 2 hour practice session alongside 6 hours of formal schooling would not enervate his academic performance. If the above is true, then the argument is weakened.

Finally, the author assumes that the recent study was conducted during last year, which suggests more than 40,000 young childrens suffered injuries. However, there is no evidence to bolster this claim. It is not unlikely that both the things are anchronistic. And the study cannot be attributed to the increasing injuries to young children. Foe instance, the study was conducted 10 years ago and only recently have the young children been suffering from these injuries. If the above assumption is unwarranted, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumtions. Moreover, the author fails to furnish peices of evidence to buttress his conclusion. Also, he/she fails to develop an efficient analogy between the increasing injuries, the psychological pressure and long practice sessions. If the author is able to address the above stated assumptions and perhaps, conduct a scientific study to evaluate the effects of athletics in younger children below nine, then we can fully evaluate the viability of the argument to discontinue organized athletic competition for children below the age of nine, in Parkville.