People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Critical criticism is perhaps, more imperative than mere approbation. The given prompt asserts that people who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy tend to be the most critical of it. Research has consistently demonstrated one who accepts criticism in positive way, fares well better than others who don't. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the given assertion and argue that indeed, people deeply committed to the idea/policy have a predilection to be critical of the same, for these reasons.

First, these people have a firm understanding of the idea or the policy. They are on very strong grounds regarding the overall assessment of the idea. They are able to take cognizance of the complexity, importance and implications of the idea. For instance, senior advisors like the Chief Secretary of the state or National Security advisors(NSA) are adept with the lucid expertise of their fields. They play a keen role formulating and implementing key policies. Elected politicians, generally inept, do not go against these advice's. This example illustrates how these people are more critical than the rest, due to sheer expertise and hold on such fields. Thus, since these people know the idea inside out, they tend to be more critical of it.

Furthermore, these people feel the responsibility towards the idea. They are well aware of the implications of proposing and implmenting such policies. They tend to iteratively make suggestions, to make the policy better. Consider a national healtcare policy, for instance, the government may recieve much criticism from the opposition, that is pre-dominantly expected, what matters is criticism from the experts. The government may then revise the guidelines of the policy, enervating the viability of criticism. This illustartes how government perceieves criticism when the experts are critical of it. Moreover, these people are accountable for the policy. Hence, accounatbility makes people more critical of the policy.

Of course, some might argue that people are critical due to their petty personal interests and that there is nothing constructive about the criticism. This might be warranted in some scenarios like politics where regardless of the merits of the policy, opposition engages in criticism of almost any move by the government or some office gimmicks. However, this is limited to only such scenarios. In most of the cases, people involved whole heartedly in the idea/ policy are more critical, just because they want betterment of the idea. Therefore, we must construe criticism from the people committed to the idea in a constructive way and look to improve the efficacy.