People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In devel

It is widely accepted that people will have at least one passionate issue in life and will be deeply committed to studying or engaging in those things. The prompt argued that people who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it. In my opinion, in contrast to the prompt, I think that people who are in love with some idea or policy will be the most supportive instead of the most critical. There are two possible explanations that I will explain in the following.

To begin, all ideas and policies have both advantages and disadvantages; however, people who are committed to them will easily look past the disadvantages of the ideas. For instance, in Thailand, there are a lot of people who encourage the free using of tobacco and cannabis. While normal people acknowledge that these substances have their advantages for curing palliative patients to have a better appetite or better sleep, they are also against the freely used policy because these substances can cause addiction and brain damage that will never be recovered. However, people who have committed to freely using tobacco and cannabis may not care about anybody who is against this policy due to their passion, even though there are a lot of studies about the negative effects of these substances. Moreover, they may look past the negative effects. If they look past these negative sides of the policy, how will they be most critical of it?

In addition, people who have committed to the idea or policy will further support it, which contrasts with the prompt because they want their ideas to be accepted by other people in the society. There is a study that demonstrates people want to be respected in some ways, for example, for their ideas, work, or honor. Similarly, people who love using cannabis may want others to accept their ideas so that they feel respected by others. This group of people may engage the government to encourage the free use of cannabis. Once their commitments come true, they will be successful and feel proud. It is not sensible if they want to criticize it, which could possibly make them stop using cannabis freely and cause them to be ignored by others.

In conclusion, some people could say that people who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it. If they are true, these ideas and policies will not be started in our society, as they always criticize the policies, and their ideas will cease in some ways. These people may not commit to the idea anymore after shutting it down by themselves. Thus, I believe that people who are deeply passionate about some issues will not be the most criticized for them.