Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

Space is perhaps the most unexplored venture by the huamn race. The above letter recommends that we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight. The author arrives at the conclusion based upon the premise that manned spcae flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, recent unmanned space probes have been successfull in gathering useful information sans the risk. However, before the recommendation can be properly evaluated, we must examine the following assumptions in the argument.

Firstly, are all manned space flights costly? It is possible that there might be a plethora of varied types of manned space flights- perhaps only certain type of manned space flight might be expensive. It is highly unlikely that if all types of manned space flights were costly, there would have been the race for space domination which spurred during cold war. Both US and USSR were investing heavily into space flights. Further, history suggestes that manned space flights have been more succesfull to explore science in space. If either of the assumptions stands unwarranted, then the conclusion drawn from the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, it is stated the manned space flights are followed be potential risks. However, it is not provided how the risk is assessed and attributed. Perhaps it might be possible that the potential risks could be easily managed by articulated and harnessing cutting edge technologies. Also, if the risk is assumed to be associated with the lives of the men and women sent into space, it is highly likely to be delarious. The risks need to be assesed properly and further couse of actions must be undertaken to migigate the risks. The prompt suggests that the author is confounded. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Further, the prompt suggests that unmanned space probes and satellites have been successfull in recent series. However, it is possible that the it's sucess is limited. Space is an endless venture to explore and open to endaevours. Perhaps, there is immense latent potential for success which is not possible in unmanned space probes. Consider, the unmanned space probes are encountered with an untoward incident in space, then the space probe is endangered with the risks and cannot be controlled dynamically. This would exacerbate the problem related with unmanned space flights. If the above has some merit, then the argument is waekend.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is significantly weakened due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If we could eavluate the implications of the arguments and assumptions,then it is possible to evaluate the argument to prefer to invest our resources in unmanned space flight or otherwise.