The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the given letter, the parent asserts the principal of the school to replace the vendor of the cafetaria, Swift Nutrition. The parent has arrived on this assertion based on the premise that Swift Nutrition would have serious health consequences for the students. However, the assertion drawn might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, would dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Before we could evaluate the given assertion, the following questions must be addressed.

First of all, the parent states that his/her son and several of his friends complained about the lunch options. It is unclear, however the scope and reliability of the observation. How many such students complained about the meals served by Swift Nutrition? What percentage of all students have complained? It is possible that these particular students might have an apetite for high-fat meals. Also, it is highly likely very few students have actually complained while the rest are pretty satistified by the meals served by the Swift Nutrition. It would be unfair to take such a decision based on such limited information. Perhaps, these students may not have been the representative of all the student at the school. If either of the above scenarios are true, then the conclclusion drawn in the origianl argument is significantly waekened.

Furthermore, the parent assumes if such meals would enforce recalcitrence in the students to boycott meals from cafeteria, they would opt to bring rather unhealhty meals from elsewhere. However, this might not be the case. It is highly unlikely that kids which opt to bring their own food would espouse unhealthy food. For instance, a kid bring meals from home will bring a highly salubrious meal, perhaps better than the one served in the cafetria. The meals prepared at home tend to be more healthy due to natural ingredients and austere cooking techniques. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, what exactly does the parent mean by 'not enjoyable'? How can the meals be 'not enjoyable'? The parent fails to provide any information regarding the supposedly 'enjoyable' food. It is highly likely that food children enjoy the most, is inimical to their health. Children have inherent proclivity to fast and junk foods such as pizzas and hotdogs, which when consumed frequently, adversely affects the health. If the above stands warranted, then the argument is weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. The author fails to provide concrete data to bolster his claim. Also, the author uses highly vague and ambiguous terminologies. If the author is able to address the questions raised above and perhaps conduct a scientific study to find how many students have the same opinion, then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the argument.