A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the given prompt, the author concludes that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. The author arrives at this conclusion based on the premise of a study which showed lower levels of tooth decay in children living in Himalayan mountain region in Nepal, as compared to children of suburban areas in the United States, despite visiting dentist more. However, the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. Before we could evaluate the argument, the following assumptions must be addressed.

First of all, the author assumes that the children of Himalayan region in Nepal are comparable to the children in suburban areas of United States. And, that what might be true for one csn be vividly attributed to another. However, it might not be the case. It is possible that Nepal and United States are not at all comparable and condition of children are disparate. Are the two locations comaprable in demographics and cliamtic conditions? Pehaps, the food consumed by children in Nepal is higly different from what an american child would consume, thus leading to different impact on oral health. It is also higly likely that the nutrients in water consumed might vary, as water in Himalayan region contains more natural salts than distilled water. If any of the above scenarios is true, then the conclusion drawn in the origianl argument does not hold water.

Furthermore, the author cites a recent study that shows that children of Nepal have better dental healthg than american children, despite fewer exposure to dental facilities. However, the scope and validity of the study is unclear. It is highly likely that the sample may not have been reprentative of the whole population of Nepal and United states respectively. Perhaps, the mere factor that Nepali children would have less awareness abouth tooth decay, which the study fails to record. Morover, the methodology used in conducting such a study is also higly suceptable to fallacious findings, as tooth decay is not quantifiable. If the above is true, then the argument is weakened.

Finally, the author assumes that both dental health facilities are similar. It is highly likely that the medical facilitites, doctors with adept expertise and awareness abouth oral health amongst the Nepali population is varied, as compared to american counterparts. For insatnace, if Nepali population is more reluctant to undergo dental treatment have less chance to visit doctor, altough they might have tooth decay. Also, we cannot attribute childrens tooth decay to adults tooth decay, as both are different. If the above assumption is unwarranted, then the argument is significantly weakened.

In sum, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its relaince om several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can address the above stated assumptions and perhaps consuct a scientific study to evaluate the relation between tooth decay and visiting a dentist, we can evaluate the viability of the given argument.