Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The cities are considered to be the economic indicators of a nation. They are developed and provide a heavy revenue for the government. Hence, I agree with the claim that a government must provide sufficient financial support to its major cities and also the reason that the claim is based on, stating that the cultural traditions are primarily preserved and generated in the cities.

Firstly, the cities are heavily populated, people migrate from different parts of the country to the city, mostly for their personal development. However, to fulfill the needs of these large populations, government's must provide them with the required infrastructure. It should be able to provide the people with basic needs like transportation facilities, electricity, water supply and other facilities. Hence, a government, whose aim is to serve the people, should provide it's major cities, the required financial support.

The major cities in a country is comprised of a myriad number of tax payers, as compared to other regions. Since, a city is a developed area with a greater cost of living, people living in such places, are usually involved in high paying occupations and therefore can contribute largely to the government in the form of taxes. Hence, the government should pay the citizens of a city back by ensuring the major cities, the financial support they require. This will help them function in their jobs without any hindrances and therefore further contribute to the nation.

As stated in the above points that cities are comprised of a huge population that migrate from various places and hence, it is also a conglomerate of divergent cultures and traditions. This diverse cultural values in a society can lead to a healthy competition among the cultural groups and It is proven fact that a healthy amount of competition can be constructive, so these cultural groups will make attempts and thrive to preserve and generate their respective cultures. Hence, ensuring the well being of people residing in the cities can also account for the preservation and generation of a nation's cultural traditions.

This competition of cultures can also be hazardous when it crosses a certain limit. People in an attempt to achieve hegemony over other cultures, can take part in malicious activities which can do more harm than good to a nation. For example, most of the mass killings in the world are instances of some cultural groups who wish to achieve absolute dominance over other groups. Hence, in order to prevent such repercussions, one must ensure that these competitions among various cultures do not take the wrong turn.

Hence, government must definitely ensure that the major cities receive the financial support they need and also cities can ensure the preservation and generation of the culture and tradition of a nation.