Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The claim made by the author about the financial support, culture and tradition seems little to vague with the information provided to accept or deny. The author mentions that major cities in the country must claim majority of the funds as they are primary source of country heritage development and preservation.

Let’s alone the take example of India. The country has 28 states and 4 metro cities. The financial distribution is mainly controlled by federal government and state government. Majority of fund in state government is given to state capital which supposed to have major portion of population when compared to other districts. The major cities are more of job creation and distribution hub in these states. This attracts a lot more people from various part of countries to migrate to that place. Lot of resource are invested in infrastructure development and market growth of the city. More the development more far way we move from our traditional existence of old India.

Morden cities are a diverse culture where people from lot of places move in search of better career and future. The mix of different culture actually make people adapt other culture and tradition that makes their own tradition more vulnerable. A whole lot of shift are observed in these places which makes people concerned about their existence of their culture. Paris is capital of fashion Industry. People from around the globe come there .The city has transformed to local's population to a cosmopolitan city. People in such cities are not much bothered about their culture preservation to avoid conflict among themselves. The city cites a best example where putting major chunk with above rule will not produce desired effect.

I remember small district that have large population puts a lot of possibility of culture and customs preservation. These people are more indulge in the activities that they have inherited from their parents. Intrinsic characteristic of these process have knowledge and practices of Indian tradition. The more we go deeper in the roots the more complaisant will be experience. If you looks at the textiles and handloom market in India, majority of products are manufactured in villages and small cities. These places help continue tradition for decades. The author need to widen his perspective and accumulate more such examples form more strong hypothesis about the system.

It’s not always true the small town males way for such cultural involvement, there are cases when large industrial plants and installed. This takes toll on those areas for next coming years. Urbanisation might be boon for many but bane for most.