Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The main cities play a very important role in national culture, economy and social life, being the centers of tourism, education, local and international trade. It is hard to overestimate the significance of the capitals and cultural capitals of the states. Nevertheless, by asserting that the major cities require financial support to flourish, the author of the prompt fails to acknowledge actual economic independence of the big cities. Taking into consideration unconvincing reason of the statement, I find it hard to agree with the issue as it stands.

To begin with, being economic and cultural centers big cities tend to absorb national human and financial resources. The problem of urbanization is nowadays met by almost all developed and developing countries. In concert with this, the provinces are usually the ones, who are lacking the funds to sustain. Therefore, additional financial support of the major cities can leave the peripheral regions without necessary financial aid. The fact that huge cities with their entire cultural heritage become the best places for business assures that they do not need the financial support to thrive, especially comparing with provinces. Moscow and St. Petersburg are the compelling examples of the megapolises with great cultural significance. The tourists from all over the world come to St. Petersburg to visit Hermitage and bring a lot of revenues for the museum and for the municipality. At the same time, nearby located city, with even longer history than Cultural capital of Russia, Kostroma is lacking financial capability for sustainable development. Be we the Russian authorities, where should we allocate financial support in this situation?

On the other hand, I concede that the author of the prompt is on the correct philosophical side of the issue, when it comes to necessity to preserve national heritage, which often is located in the main cities. National museums and art galleries do not serve only as the treasury of culture, but also as important source of money. Be there so many tourist in Paris, if Louvre would be located in any other city? Would be Rome so interesting for tourists, if the Colosseum would not be preserved? Admittedly, it is in the national interest for the governments to sustain the capitals in good shape and take care of the culture they possess. However, this support should not be ultimately financial, as the main cities usually have enough of resources to preserve important cultural attractions. Decision makers can help main cities to thrive with regulations, which will attract more tourists and businesses to the main cities and therefore bring the necessary resources to preserve the main cities and their cultural heritage.

Finally, while the most important cities often have significant art pieces and museum, they are often becoming quite cosmopolitan. Being a magnet for people and businesses main cities often become very international and therefore lose national cultural authenticity, while provinces maintain pure national culture with all traditions. One must admit that it is often hard to try in Rome or Milano proper Italian pasta or see in Tokyo real Geishas. This important part of the national culture remain unchanged only in the smallest places of the country untouched by tourist industry. These small countryside unusually slowly but surely are getting deserted. People are moving to the bigger cities in seek of better opportunities. Therefore, I believe that states should support more countryside, which need the financial support if not to flourish, but at least to exist. Otherwise, sooner or later there will be no authentic traditional singer or dancer.

To conclude, the main cities are definitely of a great importance for national culture and need the attention of the government. Nevertheless, the financial aid should be rather allocated it the areas, where it is needed the most to provinces and little towns.