10) Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the posi

Sometimes nature and national economy are strongly interconnected and we cannot save wilderness areas, if it poses significant obstacles to economic growth. Nevertheless, I agree with the statement to the extant that preservation of wilderness areas in their natural state should be under governmental control and its' responsibility in certain cases.

Experience tells us that the natural state of wilderness areas is often essential for preserving the integral ecosystem. Only one road can divide the whole group of species and be a significant obstacle for animals to breed and live where they need. Animals can be scared to cross the highways or railroads in migration seasons or be unable to search the food on another side of the road. Even small human influence can cause significant damage for nature, not to mention the situation, where influence is systematic. Harming nature for economic gain can cause even opposite effect for economy. For example, the case in China, when government allowed everyone to kill sparrows in order to help the agriculture. Lack of sparrows caused massive attack by insects, what in the end was even worse for agriculture. Those, I think that governments should keep the situation under control and issue relevant restrictions, where they are needed.

One must admit as well, that it would be difficult to preserve wilderness in the natural state without financial support and regional development. Nowadays we see what difficulties meet some African countries in protecting their national parks. Poachers will do everything to kill the last rhino for its' horn for economic gain and without financial aid it would be impossible to protect such species. Coming back to above mentioned example with the road, I would concede that sometimes the road can be essential for development of whole region and modern technologies can allow us to build bridges for the animals and to minimize the harmful effect of the economic activity.

Admittedly, humans' needs are unlimited and companies will always seek to maximize their economic gain. If government will give allowance to build one factory, there is a probability that soon there will appear another one. In addition to this, the company will try to minimize the costs on safety measures, what can lead to the pollution or even ecological catastrophe. Moreover, it is hard to predict what can happen on industrial objects. Only one human error or miscalculation can be a reason of an irreversible effect on nature. For instance, Chernobyl or Fukushima nuclear disasters happened only once, but the harmful effect of radiation will influence the nature for decades. The wilderness areas nearby will never be the same.

In the final analysis, the statement's accuracy depends on the context and the region. In some cases nations actually should pass laws to preserve wilderness areas in their natural states, but we need to consider the situation case by case. Sometimes moderate economic activity can be harmless for nature, but bring significant economic gain, what will help the sustainable development and to protect the nature. The key is to strive the optimal balance between economic development and preservation of nature, the balance that varies depending on the conditions of the nature and possible causes of human activities.