10) Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

With the deterioration of the environment, wild animals and plants' habitats have been severely damaged, which leaves a serious environmental problem for human beings. The economic gain and wilderness preservation, which one is more improtant for us? The statement claims that nations should take up the responsibilities to put forth laws to preserve remaining wilderness regions, and scrifice economy if there is any conflicts. In my point of view, I mostly agree with this statement, but there might be opportunities to obtain both at the same time.

Certainly, someone might counter the statement by claiming that economy is the pre-requiste for preservation of wilderness areas because the habitats could not be well preserved without sufficient funding. Protecting an wilderness area to remain natural could be a costy project, because it involves the facilities to be constructed, the manpower to be put in, and invaluable time spent. After the initial measures have been done, it still requires a very long period of sustaining. In this kind of public projects, the fund can only come from the nation itself. However, if a nation is suffering povety issues, or other severe issues that need funds to settle, the nation might not spend the funds in the enviornment protection. For example, in Africa, food and water scarcity are widespread. The governments in those nations do not have enough money to get their citizens out of the troublesome situation. In addition, they tend to kill precious animals for trades in order to get money for the improvement on national poverty.

A nation's responsibilities are not only developing the country for more wealth but protecting the habiats any lives stay, including human beings, animals and plants. Although becoming more wealthy is a rational pursuit for most of nations and their citizens, the damaged wilderness habitats usually can not be restored anymore. If nations develop economy in the price of the habitats, they will lose them forever, even when the nations are rich enough and regrete. Thus, in the first place, nations should not destory those places for economic gain.

Indeed, there might be possible ways to achieve both preservation of wilderness environment and economic growth concurrently. For example, a nation could turn the habitats into sites to attract tourists. In this case, the habitats can be protected well enough, and the transformations are able to bring revenues for the sites to continuously sustain.

In conclusion, preservation of natural wilderness habitats should not be scarified in order to gain economic benefits. However, the governments or institutions should consider ways that can make the habitats profitable while keeping their naturality reminded.