Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve a common goal.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is said that traditional lecture-based instruction is required to be replaced by group assignments. This is because in this way students can better learn about cooperation. I agree with this point of view to some extent.

On the one hand, I can explain why it is important for students to be prepared and taught about for aspects of life that require co-operation. In the adult working life many students need to know how to work with others and share their experience and knowledge. They should know how to cooperate with like-minded people and even those with different and opposite ideas. Students should be prepared for this subject from an early age. Teachers can help students to learn about cooperation by giving group homework. In this way, students with their classmates try to help each other to know about their weaknesses and resolve them. Also, through the group assignments, students can improve some of their skills, such as communication, cooperative and team collaboration skills. After a while, they can gain more from cooperation with their peers, as they can make friends and gain more respect and kindness from others.

However, I also believe that group assignment cannot solely replace traditional lecture-based instruction. In other words, both method complement each other and they should be used together. A group work can be useful when teachers give enough information to students and answer their questions about the lessons and any problem that they have in their academic lessons. Moreover, I believe that in addition to cooperation, students need to learn about competition that teachers or lecturers can provide enough conditions for this subject. Reinforcement of sense of competitiveness is necessary, as completion is one of the most important source of motivation. In the traditional lecture- base, teachers try to teach something orally to students and then for some lessons such as math, they can make groups and give some math problems to them and introduce a prize for the first group that can correctly solve the math questions in a short time. In this way, they not only can benefit from the traditional method of teaching but also can learn about the fair way of competition and the advantages of cooperation.

Through the lecture-based method children are though about the benefits of competition and cooperation. As, both of them are necessary for working adult life. For example, by have good cooperative skill, students learn how to work in team, how to follow the rules and how to share things. This skill is so important in some famous companies; such as google which has been created based on teamwork. Having a sense of competitiveness is important because we can see that one of the secrets of success is to try to be better than other and outdo the rivals. would somebody like the founder of Microsoft named Bill gates was successful as he is now without competition and ambitious attitude? Absolutely no, competition motivates people to improve themselves to overcome their rivals and become different.

In conclusion, in my view, both methods must be used with each other and no one can help children solely.