Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve a common goal.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In claiming that group assignments where students work together should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction, the claimant assumes that there is a disproportionate amount of lecture-based instruction compared to group assignments in most college and university courses. This comes from a place where collaboration and teamwork are seen as essential skills to pick up during the course of our education, as reflected by employers who prefer team players over lone wolves and school curricula emphasizing the importance of team-based project work.

Given that a growing number of industries involve cross-border collaboration and in-house teams, we assume that these college and university courses should be best configured to help students hone skills required in the workplace. Soft skills including empathy, social decorum and negotiation are used daily across different industries and professions. While the subject matter of the university course matters in which lecture-based instruction remains crucial for students to pick up content and technical knowledge, one can also argue that as students making the most out of their resources at college, students can themselves study and discover such content in the process of assigning group assignments.

Human contact and interaction required in group assignments forces one to take into account varying viewpoints and temperaments, and students may find that they discover more through research that is readily available via college libraries and online resources and helpful discussion with peers who are often their equals in terms of educational level.

On the other hand, opponents may argue for the status quo of lecture-based instruction and group assignments, especially since public and private school students, to a differing extents, have already experienced group assignments in high school. However, whether students’ exposure to group assignments, which we generally assume to be beneficial, is sufficient remains to be known. We can posit that the university cohort is generally less homogenous than that of hometown public and private high schools, giving rise to a better or more fulfilling experience completing an assignment as a group.

We cannot deny that as of now, lecture-based instruction remains useful for disseminating large amounts of information that students may require before delving deeper into a more specific subject matter through group assignments. Contentious as it sounds, the author’s original intent seemed to imply a major overhaul in the educational system in college and university courses, with lecture-based instruction making way for group assignments. However, we can also agree to a smaller degree with the claim based on the above reasons in that lecture-based instruction, while useful, should relegate some of its time to the benefits of group assignments.