A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Commonly known to many is the scientific fact that periods of interaction and play with pet dogs show correlation with decreased levels of blood pressure, which is a sign of relief and relaxation within the bigger picture of stress and bustle often associated with modern urban life. We assume that several of these physical measures, such as aforementioned blood pressure, are taken into account when the statement “pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets” is made.

Additionally, dogs are singled out as prime representative of pets for lower incidences of heart disease in its owners. Logically speaking, decreased levels in blood pressure for owners could attribute to this statistic, as we closely link blood pressure and related indicators to the health of a human heart. However, one cannot simply ignore the unstated assumption that individuals or even families who seek to own a dog of their own may lead more active lifestyles than their counterparts who choose not to. For example, families with larger spaces such as a backyard may be more inclined to adopt a dog than families who live in apartments. Individuals may then have more space to walk or run on a daily basis, or may have chosen to adopt a dog to match their active lifestyles rather than a cat which is relatively less energetic.

Hence the dog is not a panacea for all heart problems, and cannot simply reduce chances of owners experiencing continuing heart problems as mentioned. Opponents may argue that the presence of a happy, affectionate dog will improve the mood of patients and lead to better treatment results, to which I acknowledge. However, the author assumes that lower incidence of disease encapsulates a lower need for ongoing treatment. One angle is prevention, and the other is treatment, both of which cannot be confounded with each other.

Lastly, the adopting programme may not have its intended results as correlation between pet ownership and longer, healthier lives does not equate causation. Other factors need to be considered for incidence of heart disease in the general population to decrease as intended.