Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

At odds are two varying viewpoints on whether the purpose of education is to free the mind and spirit, or that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits. Both of these views seem to come at a time where education is arguably being used as a social leveller in meritocratic societies across the world, and in which the role of education is pivotal in the development of future generations. Whether or not the view that the purpose of education becomes counterproductive in formal education remains to be known.

In its inchoate stages education can be said to widely fill the gaps in knowledge and technical skills acutely needed in the industrial workforce. The modern definition of education, especially formal education and oftentimes public education, comes with the image of a classroom in which students are taught and tested towards skills deemed necessary for their development. These include soft and hard skills such as verbal and written communication, as well as programming skills and other twenty-first century skills often quoted in an institution’s official curriculum.

Beyond cerebral pursuits, these skills allow students, as recipients of education, to expand their knowledge unsupervised. Regardless of the success of these educational institutions in “freeing the mind and spirit”, it can be inferred that modern education has evolved beyond the needs of the working world and towards leisure and academia. For example, free online websites such as Khan Academy and even Google make it possible for students to educate themselves on matters from religion to politics to science, uplifting themselves with knowledge and perspective.

Formal education, on the other hand, may have a reputation for dulling creativity and individuality among other criticisms. For example, most countries have a “Social Studies” equivalent in their public or private school classrooms that aims to, in varying degrees, forge a sense of unity and patriotism in the youth of the country. Selective accounts of history are also known to have been taught depending on country. In severe cases, these teachings may be deemed dogmatic and restrict one’s view on the affairs relating to or of the country. Should the educational system make it difficult or uncommon for students to question their curriculum beyond what is taught, in cases where partial truths are being taught, it may be true that formal education restrains our minds. Where these teachings are littered with prejudice or bias, all the more that formal education tends towards desensitising students from empathy and hence their spirits.