The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout — which are known to eat amphibian eggs — were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

As suggested by the writer, amphibian species and their respective numbers have been on the decline in Xanadu National Park and trout as a predator is culpable for this trend. Logically speaking, the artificial introduction of trout to the park could have had a devasting impact on the numbers of amphibians as prey. This claim may be further corroborated by the decrease in amphibian species and numbers years later.

However, the link between introduction of trout in 1975 to the subsequent decrease in amphibian numbers cannot be determined by the truncated trend from 1975 to 2002 alone. Whether the decrease was a continued trend since before 1975 and showed accelerated rates or started drastically in 1975 after the introduction of trout may be a clearer indicator into the true impact of trout in the ecosystem.

Substantial declines in amphibian numbers worldwide may be a general trend which does not apply to those in Xanadu National Park, as suggested by the writer. To prove that similar reasons regarding global pollution of water and air did not impact the park’s amphibians, or that trout had a larger impact on amphibian populations in the park, the writer must first consider whether pollution also contributed to the decline. Relative measures of environmental health in the park such as water pH and mineral levels, may give us a more holistic picture on other factors in the park. Should tests indicate global pollution and water in Xanadu, which is highly likely, the writer would then do well to consider this impact in addition to that of trout.

Ecosystems like that of a pond in Xanadu National Park, while studied in isolation, have organistic relationships as complicated as that of their food webs. The writer should consider whether there were natural predators of amphibians before trout, or natural predators of trout which would have lessened their numbers in turn. The larger impact of trout being introduced to the ecosystem is much larger than the predator-prey relationship between trout and amphibian.