Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.

Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Imagination is one of the pillars in which science and engineering has developed. It was imagination what provided the new ideas for scientists to develop new theories and for engineers to create new tools.

Nonetheless, imagination alone cannot progress. It actually benefits from the experience people have in every field of work. And in the next paragraphs I will discuss why I do not agree with the claim and the reason behind it.

While imagination is what generates new ideas and provides the first draft on how to develop those ideas, it is experience the one that focus these ideas into what it will really be the new model.

Without real knowledge of the reality of a job or a field of work, people with imagination would not provide the necessary ideas to improve and ameliorate it. Imagination is really useful in new subjects or undeveloped fields, but it is less than useful in established branches of any job.

Imagination helps people to think outside of the box, to search for new or better answers. However, if this person has no experience whatsoever, he would not be able to know what questions to make, and therefore what answers is he looking for. To think outside of the box, one first needs to know what is inside of it. Knowing how to do things helps people to know what it needs to be meliorated and it could help them to know where to look for answers, since they will now have a focused search.

It is true that in some cases, established habits and attitudes debase people’s ability to imagine and create. In this particular situations, it is not experience, but apathy, what enervates people’s ability to imagine and develop new ways to harden their productivity. Without imagination, hardware and software developers would not have brought smartphones to our hands. However, it was their experience in technology development that could help them to think outside the established and create a new way to communicate and improve our ways to handle portable devices and what we can do with them.

In conclusion, while imagination is a great ability and it greatly helps people to improve their jobs and daily life; it is experience what will shape that imagination into something real and useful for them. Therefore, people should be able to freely imagine and do it in a better way if they have the experience necessary to do so.