claim: many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: laws cannot change what is in people’s hearts or minds.

Nearly all the nations in the world enact various kinds of laws, aiming to keep people in order, to enhance their consciousness, and to train them to have a sound personality. And the majority of people often follow the rules of the country which they live in or travel to, but only a very few people may persist in acting on their own minds regardless of the laws and regulations. Laws, in some sense, can change people’s minds, but they cannot completely transform every person in the country from their bad minds. For another reason, people have the right of freedom of their minds and hearts, and only if they behave within the laws, they will not be punished. And, it must be pointed out that there is no all-embracing laws in the world, which always are amended according to different situations with the passing of time. Particularly, it is in modern society that more and more new problems are springing up, and sometimes there are no corresponding laws to deal with them.

As a child, one usually is taught to obey the laws by his family or watching the legal programs, and so he begins to increase the awareness of legal system, and knows that evil minds which produce harmful consequences will bring punishment on himself. Laws play a larger part in our daily life, and we all live by a code in a society in which people pursue for equality, peace, freedom and safety. Parents send their children to school in order to let them become an enlighten person who will behave in a way that observes the laws and disciplines in the future. The majority of people act in a way that best promotes the interest of the country, and they know that only if they could do something that is beneficial to the country, they would equally do good for themselves. For example, under the Environmental Protection Act, people learn to protect Mother Nature?——not to destroy rainforests which supply two-third oxygen that people need; not to hunt wild animals and to safeguard their habitats, for they are good for agriculture, ranching, forestry; especially to save rare plants and animals, which protect the biodiversity that is significant for progeny to survive and develop.

But human nature is two-elements, good and evil, which depends on the person’s minds and his acting. Of course, we must admit that most of us have a good heart and do merciful deed. Nevertheless, a few people break the laws even if they know that they will face punishment. Take corruption as an example, in China, the central government launched anti-corruption campaign in 2014 and sixty-eight senior officials accepted legal sanction in that year, for they gained personal benefits by abusing their power with the defiance of laws. In another instance, some enterprises obtain the interests by manufacturing fake and shoddy products. The 2008 Chinese milk scandal was a food safety incident, involving milk and infant formula adulterated with melamine, in which the business leaders did not consider the health of infants at all with a result of six infants dying from kidney stones and tens of thousands of other baby victims. In modern society, such irregularities are countless. On the other hand, people have freedom of minds and hearts. They can image everything and freely express their emotions, and maybe that is the rub that laws cannot absolutely change them, for they cannot regulate details of human beings’thinking and expression ways .

So, large numbers of problems generate in our society, which are needed to be settled outside the legal framework, such ways as religion, belief, morality, custom, arts, and so on. People should strive for civilization and courtesy——forbidding loud speak in public places, no spitting, respecting the elders, wasting food, treating others kindly, etc,. In China, Confucianism is deeply rooted in people’ mind and behavior from one generation to another, which teach people such things as ren(humaneness), yi(righteousness), li(proper rite), and xin(integrity), and have been popular at home and abroad. what’s more, arts is one way for people to relieve their feelings, such as music, which helps them quieten down from being irritable and escape from distress and depression; and dance, which is a good outlet to relax themselves from stress from both life and work.

Moreover, there are no all-embracing laws, which, with the technological advancement and the development of society, always have some limitations. It is the government that passes laws and put them into force,and it cannot be made frequent changes. In actuality, more and more new problems are generating in modern society, so it is impossible that laws solve all the problems.

In short, I believe that the best way is to take various methods like morality and laws join hands to solve the endless problems in modern society, all of which generate from people’s minds and hearts.