every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

For any society, the authorities hope the public to obey laws whether they are just or not, because laws help them to control people in order to ensure the orderly operation of the society. And people always abide by just laws but disobey unjust laws, even resist extremely unjust laws by violence. I think that it is an obligation for every person to respect and obey the laws, and to behave according to the laws; faced with the unjust laws, people should say ‘no’and learn to how to protect themselves from damage as much as possible.

The ultimate value of laws is to pursue justice and fairness, and only living in a just legal system, can people feel happy and have a code to abide by. In China, laws represent the benefits of all the public, and equally guarantee citizen’s fundamental rights in such subjects as politics, economy, culture, religion, etc., punish the evils and the illegal act, and protect the safety of their life and property. The majority of people consciously comply with all kinds of laws, and regard them as the standard of their behavior. People follow to Marriage Law, which bestows rights and obligations on the married parties, including the freedom of marriage, monogamy, sexual equality, adjusting the relationship of marriage and family. Enterprise Law stipulates entrepreneurs to execute legal provisions like their social responsibility and their operations. Labor Law adjust the relationship between employers and employees, the former must ensure labors to enjoy the labor right and perform their obligations, the latter should finish the work tasks and comply with labor discipline and professional ethics. Officials play a leading role in the observation of all the laws, particularly they do not abuse power for personal business like corruption, which breaks the criminal law.

Also the legal system in any country is not very perfect, to some extent that some laws are deficient, which may produce people’s resistance. For this, there are some reasons. Firstly,laws are based on objective things, but do not include any specific thing. And owing to the diversity of things and their change together with time, places and situations, it is harder for lawmakers to stipulate every detail and every relationship among things. Secondly, people create laws, including enacting laws, implementing laws, explaining laws, which are the process of people’s cognition about things’objectivity——it is inevitable that the process exists the limitations of human beings in the ability, methods, situations of cognition, and the subjectivity of lawmakers and lawman. For instance, in modern society, many new technologies have appeared, and some of them result in new crime activities, such as network crime, credit card fraud crime, private equity crime, laundering criminal activity. Moreover, laws themselves are the compromise of different interest subjects, including the requirements of these subjects——to a degree, a kind of necessity of interest groups. They may take part in the formulation of laws, or exert their influences on the promulgation of laws, so laws are inclined to their interests more or less.

How can people deal with the unjust laws? And what can they do? Disobedience or resistance? Perhaps, this is not a wise way to settle the problem of unjust laws in China. It should not be forgotten that laws, after all, are used for the government to keep the society in order. Violence only will result in a bigger problem, not solve it. So, for people, at first, they should know that laws in a nation are not perfect, and learn to express their views to the government in a rational way in order to improve the legal system. People can join with the lawyers, legal experts to the government to uncover the stories of injustice, showing the concrete examples and making their analysis for these cases, and at the same time, the legal authorities should highly pay attention to these suggestions and meet with each other on equal terms so as to make the legal system more perfect. For example, they can submit the bill to the people’s Congress for deliberation, and after discussing, the counsel of law reviews the bill, which needs several discussions, eventually the standing committee decides to amend by voting. Another way is that unjust laws attract the government’s attention by the medias’ propaganda. Make sure that people do not destroy social order under the pretext of injustice of laws.

In short, the advantages of just laws, based on the interest of the majority, are self-evident. This is beneficial to a country to develop in a harmonious, stable way, and people are willing to comply with these laws. In order to ensure the fairness and justice of laws, the legislature should amend inadequate law, repeal the unpopular act according to the welfare of human beings. Only with the just legal system, can people and the government maintain a friendly relationship, and can all of them abide by the laws and behavior in the way of the interest of the nation.