Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

People are always talking about the problem of whether the responsibility of corporations is to improve the well-being of society and environment or to make as much money as possible within the law. Different people based on different standpoints have their own views about this problem, but as far as I'm concerned, I believe that the social accountability of an corporation should be incorporated into its various kinds of activities in order to strengthen its competitiveness in changing market rather than only focusing on earning money, because the survival of any enterprise is on the basis of social and environmental sustainability.

Without business income, without business profit, it is definite for a company to survive, not to mention to bear social responsibility on its shoulders. For this perspective, making money is the primary assignment for an corporation partly to make up for all the costs occurred, partly to develop its future investment and progress. On the one hand, an enterprise must pay for labor and material expenses, operation cost, and financial charge——an income must meet the basic expenditure for the normal operation of a company, at least realize breakeven, if not, it cannot be knocked out of the market, of course, except some non-profit social corporations. On the other hand, a company must remain certain earnings for expanded reproduction, introducing new projects, and the like in the ever-increasing competitive environment. So, if a company cannot make money, it will be defeated by itself.

As a matter of fact, for corporations' responsibilities making money does not conflict with the promotion of social and environmental well-being, because enterprises act as the contributors of society and ecosystem, which in turn help enterprises gain reputation and higher market values, these aspects beneficial to their market proportion. Moreover, social responsibility, far from philanthropy, emphasizes enterprises on the well-being of its staff, society, and environment, which will become their core competition in the future.

The survival of any corporation cannot do without the efforts of its employees, the support of both clients and government, all of which weave a web of a corporation's existence. For one thing, it supplies the opportunities for job-seekers, paying for their pension, salary, sharpening their skill, most importantly offering a stage for them to exert their ingenuity. Just as the old saying is that water is the boon in the desert, a drowning man curses it, an enterprise taking care of the welfare of its employees often achieves unexpected performance, or it is abandoned. Meanwhile, responsible for shareholders, government, it is easier for an enterprise to get help, either in crises or in good conditions. In contrast, it is difficult for an enterprise to find footholds in a society, if it ignores the well-being of its staffs, evades taxation, damages the interests of shareholders, and harms customers' health. Each year there are all kinds of food safety incidents, chemical leakages and explosions, mining accidents, resulting in the serious loss of an enterprise, or even bankruptcy. For instance, Sanlu Group was bankrupt owing to producing poisonous milk power, whereas with the products of excellent quality, Lao Gan Ma food limited company has been keeping a high-rate growth since its start, winning high honors at home and abroad.

Another important responsibility for an enterprise is to contribute its efforts to ecosystem, involving in the sustainability of itself and the only planet for human existence. It is not denying that there are numerous enterprises like the production of pesticides, pharmaceuticals, plastics, which, though bring about certain economic returns, would be weeded out sooner or later if they did not transform to eco-friendly ones. In modern times, 'green' has become popular word: green foods, green energy, green buildings, green manufacturing, and so on. Such enterprises as the advocacy of low-carbon, clear energy, energy saving and environmental protection, natural foods, are springing up everywhere. Obviously, eco-friendly corporations will be the pillars in an economy, but those regardless of environment damage are doomed to disappear in a society.

Therefore, it is wise for an enterprise to put the well-being of society and environment in the first place, which not only help make pots of money, but is conducive to its long-term development and progress.